Font resize Email Print

Support for Faculty

Support for Faculty

UCSF’s highest faculty honor, Distinguished Professorships enable the University to make a permanent, substantial commitment to a researcher or clinician and his or her area of intellectual interest. Reserved for leaders in their fields, distinguished professorships signify UCSF’s belief in a faculty member’s past contributions and future promise. These endowments are often used to create new positions and attract world-renowned scientists to UCSF. Endowment earnings pay for salary, benefits, research and administrative assistants, equipment, publications and other expenses related to the faculty member’s work.

Endowed Chairs honor their holders by recognizing past achievements and future potential. Although sometimes used to attract new faculty, an endowed chair usually supports a current position. Because it is honorary and permanent, this type of endowment plays a vital role in sustaining a first-rate faculty – supporting the costs of research assistants, equipment, publications, professional travel and, in some cases, supplementing faculty members’ salary and benefits. Further gifts to endowed chairs can increase these endowments to the level of distinguished professorships, which provide even greater honor and support.

Endowed Chairs and Distinguished Professorships at UCSF Dentistry

Leland A. and Gladys K. Barber Distinguished Professor in Dentistry / Oral Medicine
Deborah Greenspan, BDS, PhD

Leland A. and Gladys K. Barber Distinguished Professor in Dentistry 
George W. Taylor, DMD, DrPH

John C. Greene Professor of Primary Care Dentistry
Stuart Gansky, PhD

Larry L. Hilblom Distinguished Professor in Craniofacial Anomalies
Ophir Klein, MD, PhD

Edwin J. & Reba C. Hyman Chair in Dentistry

Lee-Hysan Chair in Oral Epidemiology

Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery Chair in Oral Oncology

R. Earl Robinson Distinguished Professor in Periodontology
Gary C. Armitage, DDS ‘66

William H. Ware Chair in Orthognathic and Reconstructive Surgery 
M. Anthony Pogrel, MB, ChB

Eugene E. West Chair in Orthodontics

To learn more about supporting or establishing an endowed chair or professorship contact:

Lynnette Teti
Development Officer
220 Montgomery, 5009

Support for Dental Specialty Clinics

Craniofacial Center
Center for Craniofacial Anomalies

Endodontic Residency Fund

General Dentistry

Oral Epidemiology and Dental Public Health

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Craniofacial Reconstruction Research and Technology Fund
OMFS Residents Support Fund

Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology, and Oral Radiology

Orofacial Pain Center

Orthodontic Fund for Excellence

Pediatric Dentistry
Pediatric Dentistry Fund

Fumio Shibata Fund
Periodontology Research Fund
Perry A. Ratcliff Endowed Chair in Periodontology

Preventative and Restorative Dental Sciences
William F. Bird Memorial Lab Fund


To learn more about supporting a dental specialty clinic contact:

Lynnette Teti
Development Officer
220 Montgomery, 5009