Font resize Email Print

Research and Clinical Excellence Day 2010

October 7, 2010

Research and Clinical Excellence Day 2010 was a resounding success at the UCSF School of Dentistry, with presentations all day in Cole Hall, and a lively noontime poster event across the street in the Millberry Union Gymnasium.

Research and Clinical Excellence Day Committee Chair Dr. Peter Loomer opened the day, followed by Dean John D.B. Featherstone, who acknowledged the work by many people across the School and throughout the year culminating in the much-anticipated annual event.

Special thanks were offered to Delta Dental, who generously sponsored this year's event.

UCSF Chancellor Susan Desmond-Hellmann again offered words of welcome and appreciation as she did last year, emphasizing the exciting convergence of UCSF's leadership in research, clinical practice and health education.

Associate Dean for Research Richard Jordan introduced keynote speaker Joseph DeRisi of the UCSF School of Medicine's Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics and Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Assistant Professor Tri Huynh of UCSF Dentistry's Department of Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences (PRDS) introduced morning presenters Amanda Siu, Kwang Chang and Olga Martinez-Avila.

Clinical Professor Emeritus Richard Smith offered a personal tribute introducing Outstanding Clinician Award speaker Frederick Finzen, Health Sciences Clinical Professor and Division Chair, PRDS.

Department of Orofacial Sciences (OFS) Associate Professor Snehlata Oberoi kicked off the afternoon session with presenters Alice Goodwin, Xin Li and Neha Das.

Dean Featherstone returned to the podium to introduce Faculty Research Lecturer Award recipient Daniel Fried, Professor in the Division of Biomaterials and Bioengineering, PRDS, offering his own words of tribute to his former student and longtime collaborator.

Joshua Emrick presented the Mentor of the Year Award to Jennifer Gibbs.

Associate Dean for Research Jordan closed the day by returning to the podium, accompanied by Office of Graduate and Research Affairs Operations Manager Roger Mraz, to announce competition winners in the Predoctoral, Graduate and Postdoctoral categories.  They were:


  • Andrew Jheon (First Place)
  • Xin Li (Second Place)
  • Alice Goodwin (Third Place)


  • Joshua Emrick (First Place)


  • Neha Das (First Place)
  • Joseph Eliason (Second Place)
  • Niousha Saghafi (Third Place)
  • Ansony Kim (Fourth Place)

Pictured: (top, left to right) Chancellor Desmond-Hellmann and Dean Featherstone; (middle, left to right) Jeremy Horst and Stefan Habelitz; (bottom, left to right) Jennifer Gibbs and Joshua Emrick