Font resize Email Print

115th Scientific Session Wrapup

January 21, 2011

The UCSF School of Dentistry and UCSF Dental Alumni Association held a successful 115th Scientific Session the weekend of Friday and Saturday January 14 & 15, 2011, at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in downtown San Francisco, with some four hundred attendees.  The theme of the gathering was "Alumni Spanning the Generations" in celebration of this year's 130th anniversary of the School's 1881 founding.

 Highlights included the Half-Century Club Induction for the Class of 1961, strong student participation in the Student Table Clinics and Research Contest, the presentation of the 2011 DAA Medal of Honor to Dr. Troy Daniels, the surprise announcement of Dr. Tony Pogrel as the first William Ware Endowed Chair in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (OMFS), and Dean John D.B. Featherstone's Keynote Address during the Annual DAA Luncheon & Awards Ceremony, "Out of Adversity Comes Strength".

 Judging for the Research Poster and Table Clinic Competition was led by Dr. Roy Nesari (D'06), UCSF Dental Alumni Association Vice President, who announced and congratulated the winners at the Awards Luncheon.  First place was taken by D2 Amanda Siu.

The complete list of winners:

  1. Amanda Siu - Stem Cell Marker Expression Predicts Tumor Cell Behavior
  2. Evan Shipp  - The Effect of Scaffold Topography on HNSCC Cell Motility
  3. Neha Das - Musashi Regulates Craniofacial Development in Zebrafish
  4. Jeremy Lin - Adaptation of the cementum-dentin complex to periodontal disease
  5. Niousha Saghafi - Contribution of Lin28 to Craniosynostosis
  6. Joseph Eliason - Biomolecular Effects of Nicotine on Human Bone Cells
  7. Tim Bishop - Identification of Osteogenic Gene Families Enhanced by Bioactive Glass Ions

Says Dr. Nesari: "This year we had 31 posters, as well as a poster from the Community Dental Clinic (although not part of the competition). Feedback from alumni was overwhelmingly positive, with some saying that it was the best poster session they have ever seen at the alumni meeting. Next year, the goal is to expand by including more table clinics to add to the great selection of posters. In addition, we will shoot for an extension of the poster presentation time, as well as an increase in the number of judges (and time spent per poster)."

The 2011 DAA Medal of Honor was also presented at the Annual DAA Luncheon & Awards Ceremony, to Dr. Troy Daniels (D'67), longtime faculty member and former Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, who was introduced by Dr. Deborah Greenspan, Chair of the Department of Orofacial Sciences. An additional Medal of Honor was announced for longtime DAA member Dr. Alan Budenz.

Pictured (top to bottom): Roy Nesari and Dean Featherstone with Research Poster and Table Clinic Competition winners; at the Dean's Ambassadors reception; Susan Lopez recognizes Margaret Walsh at the Alumni Reception as the first inductee into the new UCSF Masters of Dental Hygiene Program's "Legacy of Leadership"; Ophir Klein presents at the Gene West Memorial Lecture; gathering in between sessions; Roy Nesari and D2 Justine Fong at the Research Poster and Table Clinic Competition; Tony Pogrel and Dean Featherstone as the William Ware Endowed Chair is announced during the William Ware Memorial Lecture; Troy Daniels is awarded the 2011 DAA Medal of Honor at the Awards Luncheon; the Past Presidents Luncheon; Dean Featherstone and Dr. A. Eddy Skidmore, American Association of Endodontists Foundation President, with Jeff Janian (center), recipient of the AAE Foundation’s Endodontic Educator Fellowship Award, shown holding the DAA Certificate of Recognition for the award. (Additional photographs here.)

Related link: Tony Pogrel Announced as First Ware Endowed Chair in OMFS