Font resize Email Print

Record Number of UCSF Dentistry Students to Compete at IADR/AADR in Seattle

January 11, 2013

IADR/AADR 2013 Competitors

A remarkable seven UCSF Dentistry students - more than from any other institution - have been selected as finalists to compete for research honors at the International Association for Dental Research/American Association for Dental Research (IADR/AADR) Scientific Session in Seattle, March 20 – 22, 2013.

Karina Lee (D2), Michael Morris (D3) and Ali Sadat (D3) were selected for the AADR Johnson & Johnson Healthcare Hatton Competition – Junior Category.

Jeremy Horst, DDS, PhD (Pediatric Resident) was selected for the AADR Johnson & Johnson Healthcare Hatton Competition – Postdoctoral Category

About the Hatton Competition: The competition is designed for junior investigators (junior, senior and post-doctoral) who exhibit potential for a productive career in dental research.

JT Brothers (D2) was selected for the Craniofacial Biology Group Award Competition.

About the Craniofacial Biology Group Award: Supported by DentAid (, this award was established to recognize persons who have contributed to the body of knowledge in craniofacial biology over a significant period of time. It further recognizes these research contributions to be accepted by the scientific community.

Kei Katsura (DDS/PhD) and Shaun Abrams (DDS/PhD) were selected for the Bernard Sarnat Award Competition.

About the Bernard Sarnat Award: This award recognizes original and outstanding research on craniofacial growth and development.

There were a record number of applicants for these competitions this year, such that selection of our students as finalists speaks very highly of their research. We wish them all the best as they go forward to represent the school.

Mike Morris


Top (left to right): Jeremy Horst, JT Brothers, Ali Sadat, Karina Lee, Shaun Abrams, and Kei Katsura. Bottom: Michael Morris