Font resize Email Print

Research and Clinical Excellence Day 2013 Wrapup

October 16, 2013

Research and Clinical Excellence Day 2013by Roger Mraz, Program Administrator, Office of Graduate and Research Affairs

At the end of an eventful day, UCSF Dentistry Associate Dean for Research Peter Sargent observed that "the overall quality of the presentations, both the talks and posters, was very high, and the judges were challenged to pick winners from among them."  Dr. Sargent emphasized that all of those who contributed to Research and Clinical Excellence Day 2013 deserved recognition for their exceptional work.

The day opened with words of welcome by Research and Clinical Excellence Day Committee Chair Dr. Michael McMaster followed by UCSF Vice Chancellor Jeffrey Bluestone.  A very full morning included a keynote address by Dean John D.B. Featherstone, introduced by Dr. Peter Sargent.

Dr. Featherstone’s talk was entitled “The baby has grown up.”  During his talk he reviewed the development of Caries Management by Risk Assessment (CAMBRA), concept that he developed with UOP colleague Dr. Douglas Young in 2003. 

The morning oral presentations session was chaired by Dr. Andrei Goga and included presentations by Janice Hwang, Jean Calvo and Neek LaMantia.

The Outstanding Clinician Award address was given by Dr. Sheila Brear, introduced by Dr. Fritz Finzen, just prior to the lunchtime poster session and judging.  The poster session was very well attended; the Millberry Union gymnasium was filled with discussion and excitement throughout the session.

The afternoon oral presentation session was chaired by Dr. Nathan Young, and included presentations by Dr. Di Liu, Kei Katsura and Sam Clarot.  Dr. McMaster then introduced this year’s Faculty Research Award Lecturer Dr. Diane Barber, whose talk covered both her laboratory’s success in understanding the role that intracellular pH plays in cellular signaling, as well as the importance of collaboration and camaraderie in research, and the role of a healthy work-life balance.

Closing the day, Tim Wen, Vice President of the John C. Greene Society (the UCSF branch of the AADR National Student Research Group) presented the Mentor of the Year Award to Dr. Brent Lin. 

Dr. Sargent then announced the winners of our research awards, stating that "all the presenters should be proud of their accomplishments."

The awardees are as follows:

Predoc Category

  • 1st Place - Ernest Newbrun Award for Research Excellence: Jose-Julio Hernandez-Blouin
  • 2nd Place: Janice Hwang
  • 3rd Place (tie): Evan Tae Eun You and Neek LaMantia

Postdoctoral Fellow/Resident Category

  • 1st Place: Dr. Alejandra Navarro
  • 2nd Place: Dr. Wendy Yang
  • 3rd Place: Dr. Seungil Kim

Graduate Category

  • 1st Place: Kei Katsura
  • 2nd Place: Dr. Sheila Nguyen
  • 3rd Place: Frances Yang

Research Assistant Category

  • Jacob Simon


Top to bottom: Welcome by Research and Clinical Excellence Day Committee Chair Dr. Michael McMaster; Poster Session in the Millberry Union Gymnasium; Faculty Research Award Lecturer Dr. Diane Barber.