Font resize Email Print

UCSF Dentistry DDS/PhD Candidate Shaun Abrams Wins Hinman Award for Clinical Science Research

November 4, 2013

Dr. Timothy Hottel, Shaun Abrams, and Dr. Jane C. PuskasUCSF Dentistry DDS/PhD Candidate Shaun Abrams won a Most Outstanding Presentation Award for Clinical Science Research at the Hinman Student Research Symposium in Memphis, Tennessee.

The nineteenth Hinman Student Research Symposium was held Oct. 25-27, 2013in Memphis, and featured oral and poster presentations of research projects by dental students and graduate students from dental schools across the nation.  At this year's Symposium, 104 students represented 47 dental schools in 29 states, the District of Columbia, and 4 Canadian provinces.

The Symposium is sponsored by the University of Tennessee College of Dentistry and co-sponsored by the Hinman Dental Society, which holds one of the nation's largest continuing dental education meetings each March in Atlanta.  The Symposium is also supported in part by grants from the National Institute for Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR), the ADEAGies Foundation, the Procter & Gamble Company, the University of Tennessee College of Dentistry Alumni Association, and the Tennessee Dental Association Foundation.

Eight awards were given for the most outstanding student presentations, four in clinical research and four in basic science research, in addition to an award from the National Students Research Group (NSRG) of the American Association for Dental Research.  Awards were presented by Drs. Jane C. Puskas, Timothy Hottel, and Franklin Garcia-Godoy.

Shaun's project examined how mutations in a protein complex localized to the cell's primary cilium (the Transition Zone Complex) causes craniofacial defects in a group of disorders collectively termed craniofacial ciliopathies. The study was directed by his mentor, Jeremy Reiter, in collaboration with Dr. Ralph Marcucio and Dr. Nathan Young.

In 2012, A Most Outstanding Presentation Award for Basic Science Research was presented to UCSF School of Dentistry PhD candidate Dr. Michael Le (D’11).


Left to right: Dr. Timothy Hottel, Shaun Abrams, and Dr. Jane C. Puskas


Hinman Student Research Symposium