Font resize Email Print

Record Number of Summer Dental Student Research Fellows

March 1, 2016

2016 Summer Dental Student Research Fellows
(L-R) First row: Rhett Berg, Arielle Canoza, Linda (Chai Yoon) Kim, Beinan Zhao, Laura Aguilar-Sanchez,  Tiffany Han, Jaime Cheung, Jungsoo Kim. Second row: Bronwyn Hagen, Alex Romash, Thomas Nguyen, Taranvir Cheema, Corissa Chang, Karena Craemer, Ivy Vuong, Grace Zhu. Third row: Morgan Nelson, Roberto Velazquez, Arvin Pal, Alexander Powell, Daniel Ta, Raymond Lee, Manabu Manandhar. Fourth row: Roger Mraz, program administrator; John D.B. Featherstone, dean; Thomas Lang, associate dean for research; Lisa Chung, chair.

A record number of 23 pre-doctoral students have been selected to participate in the 2016 Summer Dental Student Research Fellowship Program. Thanks to the strong support of the fellowships’ many sponsors, a broad range of research topic proposals have been funded, including stem cells, craniofacial development, biomaterials, laser technology, health literacy and health policy.

The selection committee was led by Lisa Chung, DDS, MPH, and included faculty from all four UCSF Dentistry departments as reviewers of the submitted research proposals. Selection was based on the scientific merit of each proposal, as well as on the anticipated training potential and research experience to be gained in conducting the project.

“We are thrilled this year to have a record number of fellows participate in the 2016 Summer Research Fellowship Program,” Dr. Chung said. “Each year I’m impressed with the ambitious proposals and what is actually achieved during the summer period, and I suspect this year will be no different.”

The 2016 fellows and their mentors are:

Student | Mentor
Laura Aguilar-Sanchez | Elizabeth Mertz
Rhett Berg | Cynthia Darling
Arielle Canoza | Stan Glantz/Cristin Kearns
Corissa Chang | Judith Barker/Kristin Hoeft
Taranvir Cheema | Benjamin Chaffee
Jaime Cheung |Lisa Chung
Karena Craemer |Diane Barber
Bronwyn Hagan | Jeffrey Bush
Tiffany Han | Rik Derynck
Linda (Chai Yoon) Kim | George Taylor
Jungsoo Kim | Jing Cheng
Raymond Lee | Daniel Fried
Manabu Manandhar | Sarah Knox
Morgan Nelson | Andrew Jheon
Thomas Nguyen | Stefan Habelitz
Arvin Pal | Sunita Ho
Alexander Powell | Joel White/Ram Vaderhobli
Alex Romash | Sneha Oberoi/Nathan Young
Daniel Ta | Grayson Marshall
Roberto Velazquez | Ann Lazar
Ivy Vuong | Susan Ivey/Karen Sokal-Gutierrez
Beinan Zhao | Stuart Gansky
Grace Zhu | Richard Schneider

“Along with these outstanding fellows, we have 23-plus faculty mentors that will provide this excellent learning opportunity to take place. This faculty-student mentoring relationship is really at the core of the program,” Dr. Chung said.

The fellowships are funded through the generous support of the UCSF School of Dentistry Dean’s Office, Department of Orofacial Sciences, Department of Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences, Department of Cell and Tissue Biology, Buchanan Dental Center, Program in Global Oral Health, Program in Craniofacial Biology, American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Summer Fellowships, Associate Dean for Education and Student Affairs Dr. Dorothy Perry, Associate Dean for Research Dr. Thomas Lang, emeritus faculty Drs. Deborah and John Greenspan, emeritus faculty Dr. Caroline Damsky and Dr. Peter Sargent, the John C. Greene Fund and Delta Dental.