Font resize Email Print

Students Take Part in 2017 AADR, IADR Competitions

January 25, 2017

Michael PH Chen (left), Rae Sesanto, Michael S. Nguyen, Kelly Ren, Duy Bui

Five first-year dental students have been chosen to compete for AADR Student Research Fellowship awards, to be announced at the opening ceremony for the IADR/AADR/CADR General Session, March 22 in San Francisco.

The students and their mentors are: Duy Bui (Benjamin Chaffee), Michael PH Chen (Jeffrey Bush), Michael S. Nguyen (Chelsea Bahney), Kelly Ren (Sharof M. Tugizov) and Rae Sesanto (Diane Barber).

These fellowships, supported by several major industrial companies as well as by AADR group chapters, sections and members, are sponsored and administered by the AADR and have been created to encourage dental students living in the United States to consider careers in oral health research.

Andrew Jang, DDS, PhD

Andrew Jang, DDS, PhD, has been nominated to compete in the the IADR Unilever Hatton Competition, senior category. The competition is designed to provide an opportunity for the best junior investigators from all IADR Divisions and Sections to present their research at the IADR General Session. Dr. Jang's abstract is "A Hands-free CO2 Laser Clinical Handpiece for Selective Composite Removal." His mentor is Daniel Fried.