Font resize Email Print

Record Number of Summer Student Research Fellows for 2017

February 14, 2017

Summer Dental Student Research Fellows 2017

A record number of 24 pre-doctoral students have been selected to participate in the 2017 Summer Dental Student Research Fellowship Program. Thanks to the strong support of the fellowships’ many sponsors, a broad range of research topic proposals have been funded, including stem cells, craniofacial development, biomaterials, laser technology, health literacy and health policy.

The selection committee was led by Lisa Chung, DDS, MPH, and includes faculty from all four UCSF Dentistry departments as reviewers of the submitted research proposals. Selection was based on the scientific merit of each proposal, as well as on the anticipated training potential and research experience to be gained in conducting the project.

“Our Summer Research Fellowship Program continues to grow and we are pleased to announce that we have set another record for this year’s cohort," said Dr. Chung. "We received very strong applications this year, which represents the quality and breadth of the research here in the School of Dentistry. Along with these outstanding fellows, we have 24-plus faculty mentors and co-mentors that will dedicate their time and provide the environment for this great learning opportunity. This faculty-student mentoring relationship is at the heart of this program.”

The 2017 fellows and their mentors are:
[Student | Mentor]

Khrystal Audi | Rebeka Silva
Sophie Ballard  |Judith Barker
Xiaoshan Bao | Elizabeth Mertz
Duy Bui | Benjamin Chaffee
Angela Chen | Yan Zhang
Michael PH Chen | Jeffrey Bush
Hoorshad Fathi-Kelly | Thuan Le
Mohsen Forghany | Jennifer Perkins
Nadia Gabriel | Stephen Connelly
Jonathan Gao | Snehlata Oberoi
Eric Hsu | Ralph Marcucio
Anne Marie Jeng | Sunita Ho
Clare Lee | Andrew Jheon
James Lin | Stuart Gansky
Wilson Ng | Cynthia Darling
Albert Ngo | Daniel Fried
Michael S. Nguyen | Chelsea Bahney
Trung Nguyen | Elsbeth Kalenderian
Brett Parks | Yvonne Kapila
Kelly Ren | Sharof Tugizov
Rae Sesanto | Diane Barber
Melody Sitlin | Stefan Habelitz
Lu (Lucy) Tian | Wu Li
Auvi Tran | Rishi Jay Gupta

The fellowships are funded through the generous support of the UCSF School of Dentistry Dean’s Office; Department of Orofacial Sciences; Department of Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences; Department of Cell and Tissue Biology; Buchanan Dental Center; Program in Global Oral Health; Program in Craniofacial Biology; American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Summer Fellowships; Dr. Dorothy Perry, associate dean emerita for education and student affairs; Dr. Thomas Lang, associate dean for research; emeriti faculty Drs. Deborah and John Greenspan, Dr. Caroline Damsky and Dr. Peter Sargent; the John C. Greene Fund; and Delta Dental.