Font resize Email Print

Strong UCSF Presence at ADEA Annual Session

March 29, 2017

The American Dental Education Association annual session and exhibition, March 18-21 in Long Beach, Calif., featured a number of School of Dentistry presenters and award winners.

Jennifer Perkins, DDS, MD, assistant clinical professor, received the ADEA/ADEA Council of Students, Residents and Fellows/Colgate-Palmolive Co. Junior Faculty Award. Dr. Perkins, who joined the faculty full-time in July 2015, also is in the PhD program at UCSF in education. The Junior Faculty Award provides support to educators to enhance teaching efforts.

Third-year dental student Irene Louie and second-year student Ivy Vuong are recipients of the ADEA/GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare Preventive Dentistry Scholarship. Each will receive $2,500. D-2 Elias Almaz is the recipient of a $4,500 ADEA/Crest Oral-B Scholarship for predoctoral dental students pursuing academic careers (plus $1,000 for travel to the ADEA annual session and to the Procter & Gamble Research Center in Ohio). ADEA at UCSF also received the 2017 Distinguished Chapter Award and 2017 Innovative Chapter of the Year Award.

Faculty and staff who presented at the annual session include:

  • Gwen Essex, MS, EdD, RDH: Creating Safe Spaces Without Boundaries for Our LGBTQ Students: Ally Training
  • Natalie Hastings, DMD: Faculty Development Marketplace: A Forum for Collaboration (Short Talks)
  • Elsbeth Kalenderian, DDS, MPH, PhD: Using the Electronic Health Records to Measure the quality of Dental Patient Care
  • Jewel Smally (Office of Curriculum Support): Teaching and Learning With Emerging Technologies and Informatics: Short Talks