Font resize Email Print

UCSF's Stellar Showing at IADR General Session in San Francisco

March 29, 2017

IADR general session

The IADR/AADR/CADR general session, held March 22-25 at Moscone Center West in San Francisco, brought hundreds of researchers to the city — and a great many awards to School of Dentistry faculty and students.


First-year dental student Kelly Ren (mentor: Sharon Tugizov) was awarded an AADR Student Research Fellowship. This fellowship, supported by several major industrial companies as well as by AADR group chapters, sections and members, is sponsored and administered by the AADR and has been created to encourage dental students living in the United States to consider careers in oral health research.

Second-year dental student Manabu Manandhar won a Salivary Research Group Award for Dental Students. The Salivary Research Group forms one of the main scientific groups within the International Association for Dental Research (IADR), the leading forum for dental researchers to present their oral care research results. Salivary research encompasses a broad range of research including salivary gland development and regeneration, functions of saliva proteins, regulation of protein secretion, diagnosis and treatment of oral and/or systemic disorders, salivary diagnostics for various diseases, physiological dysfunction, and much more. The group has a large student membership and offers them unique opportunities to give presentations in both verbal and poster formats to a collection of world experts at the IADR meetings.

Andrew Jang

Andrew Jang

AADR competition winners include postdoctoral fellow Andrew Jang, DDS, PhD (mentor: Daniel Fried, PhD), who won second place in the Hatton Competition – Postdoctoral Category. Read more about the Hatton Award.

The John C. Greene Society won the National Student Research Group award for best chapter newsletter. Newsletter editor Morgan Nelson and JGS President Linda Kim were on hand to receive the award.

Oral and Craniofacial Sciences PhD student Daniel Clark, DDS, MS, won an IADR Karring-Nyman SUNSTAR Guidor Award. The Karring-Nyman SUNSTAR Guidor Award, sponsored by the Sunstar Foundation, is a new award offered for the first time in 2017 through the IADR Periodontal Research Group. The award supports research within the field of oral tissue regeneration. The 10,000€ ($10,754) award will be conferred annually, based on an application for a research project within the field of oral tissue regeneration. 

Daniel Cla

Daniel Clark


Ophir Klein, MD, PhD, was the recipient of the 2017 IADR Craniofacial Biology Research Award.  Supported by DENTSPLY International, this award was established to recognize persons who have contributed to the body of knowledge in craniofacial biology over a significant period of time. It further acknowledges these research contributions as accepted by the scientific community. The criteria include: contributions to the scientific community throughout the applicant’s career; the impact of the research on the particular discipline of craniofacial biology in which the research is done, the profession of dentistry, and health services as a whole; publications in refereed journals; funded research through the peer-review mechanism; and other activities considered to be of a scholarly nature.

Daniel Fried, PhD, was awarded the William H. Bowen Research in Dental Caries Award, supported by Johnson & Johnson Consumer Inc. This award is designed to stimulate and recognize outstanding and innovative achievements that have contributed to the basic understanding of caries etiology and/or to the prevention of dental caries. Evidence must be presented that the nominee has conducted original and important investigations in any of the biological or chemical disciplines involved in caries research. Clinical investigations also may be considered if they have contributed significantly to the prevention and control of dental caries.

Grayson Marshall, DDS, MPH, PhD, along with co-investigators Stefan Habelitz, Sally Marshall and Kuniko Saeki, received one of three IADR Innovation in Oral Care Awards. The award, jointly sponsored by the International Association for Dental Research and GlaxoSmithKline, offer opportunities for investigators to conduct dental research that will have a direct impact on the oral health of the public.

The AADR bestowed its 2017 honorary membership on Robert Lustig, MD, professor of pediatrics in the UCSF Division of Endocrinology and member of the Institute for Health Policy Studies. Dr. Lustig is known for his research on sugar (fructose), obesity and chronic disease. The AADR honorary membership is given to a person who has made significant contributions to and/or supports dental research.

UCSF attendees at IADR general session
UCSF attendees at the IADR/AADR/CADR general session