2018 Cohort Named for Summer Research Fellowship Program

Summer research fellows 2018

Photo by Jessica Ho

A cohort of 24 predoctoral students has been selected to participate in the 2018 Summer Dental Student Research Fellowship Program. Thanks to the strong support of the fellowships' many sponsors, myriad research topic proposals have been funded, including cancer, craniofacial development, biomaterials, laser technology, caries risk assessment, healthcare delivery, health economics and policy.

The selection committee was led by Lisa Chung, DDS, MPH, and included faculty from all four UCSF Dentistry departments as reviewers of the submitted research proposals. Selection was based on the scientific merit of each proposal, as well as on the anticipated training potential and research experience to be gained in conducting the project.

"We are pleased to announce our highest number of dental students — 24 fellows," said Dr. Chung. "We have a strong collection of mentored-student research projects. This reflects the high caliber and breadth of research conducted among our faculty here in the School of Dentistry. Along with these outstanding fellows, we have 24-plus faculty mentors and co-mentors that will dedicate their time and provide the environment for this rich learning experience."

The 2018 fellows and their mentors are:

Paul Asfour (Tamara Alliston)
Leticia Chavez (Elsbeth Kalenderian)
Benjamin Cheung (Stefan Habelitz)
Daphne Chung (Jing Cheng)
Navtinder Dhillon (Daniel Fried)
Megan Do (Jeffrey Bush)
Merissa Ferrar (Marshall Stoller)
Steven Gigli (Snehlata Oberoi)
Jonathan Han (Ralph Marcucio)
Hae Jin Han (Yvonne Kapila)
Amelia Herrera (Joel Palefsky)
Esther Jang (Andrew Jheon)

Goutam Krish (Rich Schneider)
Alex Kryger (Chelsea Bahney)
William Lee (Dorie Apollonio)
Junjie Lin (Joel White)
Nevatha Mathialagan (Kristin Hoeft)
Niloufar Mohajerani (Cynthia Darling)
Sina Nazeri (Enihomo Obadan-Udoh)
Ifunaya Okeke (Cristin Kearns)
Alison Riley (Sunita Ho)
Christina Shih (Brent Lin)
Parisa Tobaty Moravedje (Yan Zhang)
Catherine Tran (Daniel Bikle)

The fellowships are funded through the generous support of the UCSF School of Dentistry Dean's Office, Department of Orofacial Sciences, Department of Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences, Department of Cell and Tissue Biology, Buchanan Dental Center, Presidential Chair in Dental Research Fund, Lee Hysan Fund, Program in Global Oral Health, Program in Craniofacial Biology, American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Summer Fellowships, emeritus faculty Drs. Deborah and John Greenspan, emeritus faculty Dr. Caroline Damsky and Dr. Peter Sargent, the John C. Greene Fund, and Delta Dental.

  • Students
  • Research