D1 Students Vie for AADR Research Fellowships

AADR participants

From left: Susan Keefe, Daniel Kim, Tsu-Shuan Wu, Sean Ganther, Sarah Anne Wong

Five first-year dental students will compete for AADR Student Research Fellowship awards this year. Award winners will be announced at the opening ceremony for the IADR/AADR/CADR General Session, June 19 in Vancouver, British Columbia.

The students and their mentors are: Sean Ganther (Yvonne Kapila), Susan Keefe (Ophir Klein), Keun Hwan (Daniel) Kim (Sunita Ho), Sarah Anne Wong (Ralph Marcucio), and Tsu-Shuan (Brie) Wu (Benjamin Chaffee).

These fellowships, supported by several major industrial companies as well as by AADR group chapters, sections and members, are sponsored and administered by the AADR. They are designed to encourage dental students living in the United States to consider careers in oral health research. Indeed, they serve as a catalyst to "ignite passion" for research in students, as Keefe said: "Thank you, UCSF, for giving me an opportunity to ignite my passion!"

  • Students
  • Research